Great Scott! Milanovich Named 2012 CFL Coach of The Year


TORONTO – In his debut season as head coach of the Toronto Argonauts, Scott Milanovich guided the Double Blue to their first Grey Cup Championship since 2004 and as a result, he is now the latest recipient of the Annis Stukus trophy as CFL Coach of The Year.

Following a 9-9 regular season record, the Argonauts’ went on to defeat the Edmonton Eskimos, Montreal Alouettes, and Calgary Stampeders in the playoffs prior to the being crowned 100th Grey Cup Champions on their own home turf at Rogers Centre.

The Argonauts’ historic victory marked the franchises sixteenth Grey Cup title. Following a midseason letdown in which the Argonauts’ had lost five-of-six games, the team concluded 2012 on a high note, reeling off a season-high five consecutive wins including their three playoff victories against Edmonton, Montreal, and Calgary.

Scott Milanovich has always been regarded as one of the premier offensive minds in the Canadian Football League and during the 100th Grey Cup playoffs he was the mastermind behind one of the most potent offences in CFL playoff history. He successfully established an effective balance between the Argonauts’ aerial attack and running game. Milanovich’s offensive schemes were executed nearly to perfection in the playoffs as Ricky Ray threw for 869 yards, five touchdowns, and just one interception. Grey Cup MVP Chad Kackert rushed for 360 yards, two touchdowns, and added an additional 118 yards receiving. In the Eastern Semi-Final against Edmonton, the Argonauts’ established a new CFL playoff record with their 31-point outburst in the second quarter, making that the most points ever scored in a single quarter in CFL playoff history.

Prior to assuming the heading coaching position with the Argonauts, Milanovich spent five seasons in Montreal where he produced one of the most consistent offences in the Canadian Football League. Milanovich has had the good fortune of working with future hall of fame quarterbacks Anthony Calvillo and Ricky Ray throughout his coaching career.

In addition, Milanovich also captured back-to-back Grey Cup Championships in 2009 and 2010 as the assistant head coach and offensive coordinator of the Alouettes.

The last Argonauts head coach to receive CFL Coach of The Year honours was current GM Jim Barker in 2010 when he led a revamped Argonauts’ squad to the CFL Eastern Final.

About Daniele Franceschi (112 Articles)
Passionate writer. Football fan first. Aspiring journalist. Just a young man chasing my dream.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: