Enshrined In History


The Toronto Argonauts Football Club would like to congratulate former Argonauts, Dan Ferrone and Don Loney on their induction into the Canadian Football Hall of Fame class of 2013. Born and raised in Oakville, Ontario, Ferrone played eleven seasons with the Argonauts from 1981 to 1992 and remains as the organization’s all-time awards winner. The late Don Loney played just one season with the Argonauts’ in 1946 but captured the Grey Cup in his only season while donning the Double Blue.

“I am so excited. I am so proud to be a part of the Hall. It is a part of history”, commented Ferrone in a media conference call following the Hall of Fame announcement. “It is very exciting. I’ve been humbled, excited, and it’s an incredible thing to be a part of.”

Ferrone’s outstanding career includes nine CFL Divisional All-Star selections, five CFL All-Star selections, and ten Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman nominations.

Ferrone is a former Offensive Captain of the Argonauts’ and captured two Grey Cup Championships with the Club in 1983 and 1991. Dan reiterated that the greatest moments of his professional football career came when he was presented with the oldest championship trophy in the history of sports, the Grey Cup.

“I’ve been so fortunate to have so many great memories. We won the Grey Cup in 1991 in Winnipeg and my son somehow got past security and joined me in -35° weather. That’s the moment I always remember,” said Ferrone when asked about his fondest memories as a member of the Argonauts.

Following his retirement from the CFL, Ferrone served as President of the Canadian Football League Players Association from 1993-2000.

In 2002, Ferrone returned to the Argonauts organization as an Offensive Line Coach and later became VP prior to becoming the team’s President in 2004. He was inducted into the Oakville Sports Hall of Fame in 2000 and recently was named an all-time Argonaut in 2006.

Fellow Grey Cup Champion, Don Loney played nine seasons as a Centre in the Canadian Football League from 1945-1952. The offensive lineman’s hall of fame career includes four East All-Star selections and the Jeff Russell Memorial Trophy as East Division MVP in 1950. In addition to his Grey Cup Championship as a member of the Argonauts in 1946, Loney also captured a Championship title with the Ottawa Rough Riders in 1951.

Following his retirement from the CFL, Loney accepted a head coaching position at St. Francis Xavier University. In seventeen seasons at the helm, he complied 308 wins and an impressive winning percentage of .807. Loney will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in the Builder’s category.

To date, there are 258 members enshrined in the Canadian Football Hall of Fame’s Zone of Champions featuring busts of each member of the Hall. The Hall is home to more than 50,000 Canadian football artifacts including equipment, trophies, photos and videos.

The Argonauts would also like to congratulate fellow inductees Earl Winfield, Miles Gorrell, Jake Ireland, and Brian Fryer.

About Daniele Franceschi (112 Articles)
Passionate writer. Football fan first. Aspiring journalist. Just a young man chasing my dream.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: